4.  Do I have to contact the manufacturer before filing a claim under the Lemon Law?

No. As long as the dealership has had a reasonable number of opportunities to repair the problem, you are not required to contact the manufacturer.

5.  Does the California Lemon Law apply to vehicles that have more than 18,000 miles, are older than 18 months or have expired warranties?

Yes. As long as the vehicle has suffered from a problem that occurred during the warranty period and has been subject to a reasonable number of repair attempts, the age of the vehicle will not preclude you from bringing a Lemon Law claim. In fact, even vehicles with expired warranties may be eligible. As long as the vehicle was having problems during the warranty period and the consumer brought the problem to the attention of an authorized dealer for repair during that period, the vehicle may still be covered.

The California Lemon Law is designed to protect car buyers who have purchased or leased a lemon vehicle. 

If you have purchased or leased a new car, truck, RV or SUV from a dealer in California, and the vehicle cannot be repaired under warranty after a reasonable number of repair attempts, you may have a lemon. Under the California Lemon Law, you may be entitled to return your vehicle and receive a refund, replace your vehicle or receive a substantial cash settlement. 

The following are the most frequently asked questions: 

Lemon Law FAQs

1. Can I afford to hire Knight Law Group to file a lemon law claim on my behalf?

Yes, you can. Our services are provided with no out-of-pocket cost to you. The California Lemon Law requires the manufacturer to pay for the consumer’s attorney fees and costs in Lemon Law cases where the consumer prevails. This fee shifting provision was enacted to alleviate the financial risk to the consumer in hiring an attorney. Knight Law Group  takes most cases on a contingency basis.

Yes. The California Lemon Law applies to used vehicles that were purchased from a dealer while covered under the manufacturer’s warranties.

No. The California Lemon Law does not require a consumer to go to arbitration in order to pursue a Lemon Law case in court.

3.  Is arbitration required to bring a successful Lemon Law claim?

1.    Can I afford to hire Knight Law Group to file a lemon law claim on my behalf?

3.     Is arbitration required to bring a successful Lemon Law claim?

No. The California Lemon Law does not require a consumer to go to arbitration in order to pursue a Lemon Law case in court.

Yes. The California Lemon Law applies to used vehicles that were purchased from a dealer while covered under the manufacturer’s warranties.

Free Consultation: 
310-552-2250

Yes. Vehicles used primarily for business purposes are covered by the California Lemon Law. So long as there are no more than five vehicles registered in the business’ name and the vehicle’s gross weight does not exceed 10,000 pounds. For the purposes of the California Lemon Law, gross vehicle weight is defined as the actual curb weight of the vehicle—not the total weight that the vehicle can carry.

The manufacturer or its authorized repair facility must complete repairs to the vehicle within 30 days of presentation to the dealership unless there are circumstances that arise which are beyond their control. Failure to repair the vehicle in 30 days may constitute a violation of the California Lemon Law.

6.  Is there a minimum number of repair attempts that must be performed to support a successful California Lemon Law Claim?

No. There is no exact number of repair attempts. The California Lemon Law states that there must be a “reasonable” number of repair attempts for a given defect. What constitutes as a reasonable number of attempts varies based on the nature of the particular problem. This is why potential Lemon Law cases should be discussed with a qualified Lemon Law attorney.

8.    What if the dealership keeps my car for repair more than 30 days?

7.    Does the Lemon Law apply to vehicles used for business?

4. Do I have to contact the manufacturer before filing a claim under the Lemon Law?

No. As long as the dealership has had a reasonable number of opportunities to repair the problem, you are not required to contact the manufacturer.

5. Does the California Lemon Law apply to vehicles that have more than 18,000 miles, are older than 18 months or have expired warranties?

Yes. As long as the vehicle has suffered from a problem that occurred during the warranty period and has been subject to a reasonable number of repair attempts, the age of the vehicle will not preclude you from bringing a Lemon Law claim. In fact, even vehicles with expired warranties may be eligible. As long as the vehicle was having problems during the warranty period and the consumer brought the problem to the attention of an authorized dealer for repair during that period, the vehicle may still be covered.

2.    Does the Lemon Law apply to used cars?

Yes, you can. Our services are provided with no out-of-pocket cost to you. The California Lemon Law requires the manufacturer to pay for the consumer’s attorney fees and costs in Lemon Law cases where the consumer prevails. This fee shifting provision was enacted to alleviate the financial risk to the consumer in hiring an attorney. Knight Law Group  takes most cases on a contingency basis.

2Does the Lemon Law apply to used cars?

 Yes. Vehicles used primarily for business purposes are covered by the California Lemon Law. So long as there are no more than five vehicles registered in the business’ name and the vehicle’s gross weight does not exceed 10,000 pounds. For the purposes of the California Lemon Law, gross vehicle weight is defined as the actual curb weight of the vehicle—not the total weight that the vehicle can carry.

The manufacturer or its authorized repair facility must complete repairs to the vehicle within 30 days of presentation to the dealership unless there are circumstances that arise which are beyond their control. Failure to repair the vehicle in 30 days may constitute a violation of the California Lemon Law.

6.  Is there a minimum number of repair attempts that must be performed to support a successful California Lemon Law Claim?

No. There is no exact number of repair attempts. The California Lemon Law states that there must be a “reasonable” number of repair attempts for a given defect. What constitutes as a reasonable number of attempts varies based on the nature of the particular problem. This is why potential Lemon Law cases should be discussed with a qualified Lemon Law attorney.

8.  What if the dealership keeps my car for repair more than 30 days? 

7.  Does the Lemon Law apply to vehicles used for business?

Free Consultation: 310-552-2250

EspañolEnglishLemon LawAuto FraudTalc

 The California Lemon Law is designed to protect car buyers who have purchased or leased a “lemon” vehicle. 

If you have purchased or leased a new car, truck, RV or SUV in California, and the vehicle cannot be repaired by the dealership after a reasonable number of repair attempts, you may have a lemon vehicle.  Below, please find a list of answers to the most frequently asked questions.

Lemon Law FAQs

The TeamResourcesThe TeamThe TeamLemon LawTalc

Vidales

All of their efforts were greatly appreciated. Everyone who was involved was very professional and encouraging. They helped me each step of the way. What a blessing the settlement is. I was able to get a nice replacement truck and also contribute to some projects at our church.

Greg & Diane

On behalf of my wife Diane, I cannot begin to tell you all how pleased we are with the outcome of this case.  As I told Alejandra on the telephone this afternoon, things working out like this just do not happen to us!!!  We will be forever thankful for what you have all done for us.  Thank you from the bottom of our hearts.

Copyright © 2018 Knight Law Group, LLP.  All Rights Reserved.

Hours of Operation: 
Monday – Friday: 7:00am – 8:00pm PST
Saturday: 10:00am – 4:00pm PST

Fax: 310-552-7973
¡Hablamos Español!

Free Consultation: 
Phone: 310-552-2250

Copyright © 2018 Knight Law Group, LLP.  
All Rights Reserved.

Hours of Operation: 
Monday – Friday: 7:00am – 8:00pm PST
Saturday: 10:00am – 4:00pm PST

Free Consultation:   

Location
10250 Constellation Blvd, Suite 2500
Los Angeles, CA 90067

Phone: 310-552-2250
Fax: 310-552-7973
¡Hablamos Español!